I spent the weekend with my parents, so of course my mom and I made some time to shop. We hit the jackpot at Ann Taylor Loft and I bought a new pair of work pants. I can’t remember the last time I bought work pants, so obviously I was in need of a little update to that area of my wardrobe. And I stepped out of my comfort zone and bought navy pants.

These are the “Julie” style and I think they said curvy on the tag, so they fit my hourglass frame perfectly. Every figure has fit issues, and as an hourglass girl, I often find that pants that fit my hips are way too big in the waist. These defied that conundrum, so if you also have that problem, check out these pants.

I love the colors Loft is showing right now – navy and bright oranges and yellows and greens. They are rich, deeply saturated hues that look fresh and current. Plus, it’s a great color palette to transition from winter into spring. For my pop of color, I bought a bright orange skinny stretch belt:

I am loving that deep orange right now and it works great with navy. A belt is a great way to incorporate a bold color without feeling like you’re as bright as the sun.

I also purchased a couple of tops that coordinate with the pants. You know it’s a successful shopping trip when you come home with a mini-wardrobe to incorporate into your existing wardrobe. There is nothing worse than buying something new only to find that you don’t have anything in your closet to wear it with.

Now I’m just anxiously counting down the days until my pants are ready to be picked up from the tailor (my other fit issue: being 5’2″ means that pants always require hemming).

What did you purchase on your last successful shopping spree?

Images from Ann Taylor Loft, via my Pinterest page