My everyday 8-to-5 role revolves around working in a cube in a run-of-the-mill office in marketing. Most days are spent in front of my computer, exercising the skills I learned in college and have honed over the last several years. It’s a good job that I really enjoy with a steady, decent paycheck but I can’t shake the feeling that something is missing.

What I am passionate about (besides the obvious: husband, family, dog, friends) is fashion. Style. As I round the bases towards the big 3-0, I’m constantly thinking about what I really want from my life. How can I be working in a job that I love, i.e. doing something in fashion? I don’t have any formal education in fashion, but I do subscribe to a barrage of fashion magazines, scour fashion websites and blogs, and constantly cyber-shop. Along the way I realized a few things. 1) My other passion has always been writing and I don’t do nearly enough of it in my everyday life. 2) I have yet to find a fashion blog or website that really speaks to the average woman. Women who are busy and don’t have buckets of money and therefore can’t buy the designer goods but love fashion and perfecting their style.

And out of all of this self-discovery, this blog was born. Blog posts and categories and ideas have been tumbling around in my head for months but life gets away from me (read: I’m lazy) and there is always a fear of failing. What if no one reads it? What if people don’t like it? What if my friends and family are embarrassed of my writing? Or the fact that I’m just writing about fashion? It’s not ground-breaking and it’s not a topic that’s going to save the world.

But as I mentioned above, I’m getting close to 30 and that seems to be a point of self-discovery for me, so I decided to go for it. If I’m the only person who reads it and it makes me smile, then I have accomplished it.

