Last Friday I enjoyed dinner with Leslie, one of my oldest and dearest friends. Over a bottle of wine and some fantastic steaks, we spent the evening catching up. During the course of conversation, Leslie mentioned sponsoring and attending a blogging conference at SXSW. She turned me onto a personal style blog that I had not yet discovered, and as I checked out Kendi Everyday today, I instantly developed a girl crush. Kendi’s style is fantastic – unique and creative and yet completely wearable.

Over the past few years, I developed a craving for style blogs, specifically “personal” style blogs. It’s all good and fine to ogle what celebs are wearing, but it’s so much more inspirational to be inspired by what everyday women wear. And yet, so many of the personal style blogs I frequent are great eye-candy, but I’m often left lamenting the fact that so many of their outfits are not wearable in my day-to-day life. They are either too casual and edgy for my 8-to-5 business casual job or they just don’t really fit into my own personal style. Not so with Kendi.

Of course, I’m also not saying that I’m going to try to become her clone and replicate her exact outfits piece for piece. I enjoy drawing inspiration from stylish women and breathing new life to my current wardrobe. Kendi’s mixing of colors and different pieces is what I hope to incorporate in my own style. So here’s to inspiration – I’m excited to mix and match what I’ve got to look fresh everyday.

Who or what inspires your style?

 

 

 

