I recently came across this ad in the June issue of Glamour:

I was immediatly drawn to the nail color. It’s called “Caught With Your Khakis Down” and just seems like the perfect gray. It even has an cool, subtle ombre effect at the tips. I don’t know if that’s just the lighting and some fancy editing in the ad, or if they are suggesting you can create that look with the second color they show, “Don’t Feed the Hand Models.” Of course, that type of process is always harder than they make it out to be so I’m not sure that I would even attempt it. But I do love the color and OPI is my #1 favorite nail polish. I have never tried their Sephora-exclusive label, but I’m sure it will be just as great as the original OPI.

In a perfect world, I would be the girl whose nails are always perfectly trimmed, filed and painted. But it’s not a perfect world so it’s more common that you catch me with bare nails. (Kudos to my friends Philene and Jill B – they always have their nails done.) But I do love the way painted nails create the perfect finishing touch to any outfit. And I’ve really grown to love doing my own nails. Of course getting a professional mani is always a treat, but it’s nice to save time and fit it into your own schedule by doing it yourself. Plus, the more you do it, the better you get at it. I prefer a shorter, dark nail – I think it’s a classic yet sharp look. However, in the spring and summer, I do sometimes opt for lighter colors.

What is your favorite nail polish brand? And favorite color?

As I said earlier, OPI is definitely my favorite, but Essie is quickly moving up as #2. My favorite color is “I’m Not Really a Waitress Red” by OPI. It’s the perfect cranberry red – it works in any season and is darker than a fire engine red without being vampy.

Fun fact: I actually have a fashion icon (or 3) for nails – the Kardashian sisters! Yes, I am big fans of Kim, Khloe and Kourtney and their nails always look so polished (pun intended).

