My hubby and I have been enjoying a relaxing (read=lazy) evening tonight, both tired from a late night last night and lots going on and the staggering heat. (It really is amazing how 100 degree heat can totally wipe you of all energy.) Anyway, as I was lounging on the couch watching reruns of “The Office,” the hubby was in the back of the house talking to his brother. Being the thoughtful man that he is, he popped his head in to let me know that “the girl I like who makes the skinny margaritas is on Piers Morgan on CNN.”

Bethenny Frankel!

I immediately switched over. In just the last few months, I have really come to LOVE Bethenny Frankel. I never followed her much when she was on “Real Housewives of New York” – that is probably my least fave of the franchise; I heart New Jersey and Beverly Hills – but I saw her speak at a cooking demo at the SoBe Food & Wine Festival in February of this year. It was then that I really developed an affinity for her. I admire her persistence, her openness and her no-nonsense attitude. As I get older, I really appreciate people who are honest and straight-forward and she is definitely that.

At one point, Piers questioned her use of the word skinny in her brand. He took the devil’s advocate approach: that in today’s society, where women of all ages are obsessed with being skinny, oftentimes going to dangerous lengths to achieve their version of skinny, that her use of that word was adding additional pressure to women. He asked why she didn’t choose a different word, like vibrant. As a marketing professional, I absolutely understand why Bethenny chose the word skinny. It just works. But I really appreciate that Piers touched on the subject of the pressure that we as women place on ourselves to look a certain way. I am amazed and frankly appalled sometimes at the amount of time and energy that I, as a confident 30-year-old woman, spending thinking about my bodily imperfections and beating myself up over the food choices I made and wishing I could fit into a smaller size/different cut of clothing. It’s something that I’ve been thinking about a lot lately as I’m not really happy with my weight and body right now, but am over the “dieting” thing. It’s a daily mental struggle to stop and reverse the negative body image thoughts and make healthy choices. But I’m working on it and I know I will get there.

And actually, I find Bethenny to be a positive influence in this arena. Her answer to Piers was basically that she’s providing solutions for women so that we can be fit and healthy and not deprive oursevles. I have read the first six chapters of her book “Naturally Thin” and her approach is not to deprive yourself, not to beat yourself up when you eat the entire bag of chips instead of a handful, but instead focus on eating whole, healthy foods, eating what you want, but being smart about balance. That’s where I’m trying to get. And that’s what I love Bethenny. Oh, and I actually really like the SkinnyGirl Margarita. My BFF and I consumed plenty of it at the SoBe Food & Wine Fest in February. 😉

So. There’s my long, random, all-over-the-place post for the night, totally unrelated to fashion and style. Tell me – do you like Bethenny? What are your thoughts on the word skinny?

 

