I’ve been MIA from my dear little blog for the last 2 weeks. I don’t really have a valid excuse, but I’ll chalk it up to work events, traveling, friends in town, uninspired to write and a crazy new obsession with Pinterest. If you spend any time at all in the blog world, especially that of home decor, you have probably heard of it. It’s a website where you can “pin” and collect pictures of anything and everything that you love. It’s sort of like creating inspiration boards that anyone can see. And I LOVE it.

I have been really focused on our house lately: decorating and adding things and truly making it our own. So looking at incredibly lovely rooms on Pinterest has been a huge time-suck. Several of the beautiful rooms I have been drawn to on the site feature a color scheme of coral and turquoise. This is not a color combination that I had thought much about and certainly didn’t expect it to appeal to me, but it did. Not sure if it’s ever going to make it into our current house, but it did make it into my wardrobe today.

I’ll be the first to say that I’m not a fan of Mondays, so I don’t usually have much motivation to put together a unique, creative outfit. This morning I went with a coral, silky top with dark brown pants and my favorite nude pumps. The top is a bit on the loose and flowy side, so I decided to belt it (that’s not a surprise, based on my admitted love of belts). To finish off my outfit, I fished through my jewelry box to find some of my lovely Sandra Ling bracelets, courtesy of my stylish grandma. They each have gold wiring with very cool, unique brown stones. Mixed in with them was a coordinating Sandra Ling bracelet, but with turquoise stones. My mind flashed back to the turquoise and coral rooms I loved on Pinterest and I decided to make that my color palette for the day.

close-up of bracelets

Now, admittedly, it’s a very subtle play on this color combo. But I would not call myself adventuresome. I always prefer to dip my toe into the water before jumping in full-body, so this was a comfortable way for me to try out a bright color palette. But I definitely enjoy these together. I think a bright turquoise cardi would be the perfect accessory to really pull off this look, like this one from Banana Republic:

What do you think of this color combo? If you like it, could you see wearing it? Decorating a room in your house around this scheme? Or both?

Image of cardigan from Banana Republic

