I haven’t really been motivated lately to get creative in my closet. I have a lot of clothes in my closet that I just don’t care for anymore and it makes finding the pieces I do like and putting together a unique outfit a challenge. So, many mornings I just grab what I can see that works fine. Blah. Boring.

Plus, I’ve never been a fan of summer clothes. It’s hot and gross which makes clothing so limiting. I LOVE fall clothes and am absolutely itching for the drop in temps and the excuse to wear boots and layer.

On top of all this, I have always struggled with casual dressing. It’s just easier for me to get dressed for work or for a nice night out. I often feel like I look boring and sloppy when I go casual. Plus, I think after graduating college and getting situated in the work world, most of us tend to purchase more work clothes. We spend most of our time at work so these are the clothes we wear and need the most. (Of course, some people don’t work in traditional office jobs and may have more flexibility in their wardrobe. I don’t fall into that category.) However, I did find a way to work a very casual piece of clothing, a tank top, to be office-appropriate for casual Fridays.

This is an Ann Taylor Loft tank in a great plummy-maroon color with tiny little crystals along the neckline. This is a perfect casual piece for me because I don’t feel sloppy in it, but on it’s own, it’s obviously not office-ready. So I paired it with a light, three-quarter sleeve gray-ish/silver cardi and some dark trouser jeans. What you can’t see in the picture are my shoes – some low-heeled black patent pointy-toe pumps. I LOVE the length and sleekness that pointy-toe pumps add when paired with pants or jeans. I think this is a great example of my casual style. It’s polished and classic but I could certainly wear it out to dinner or shopping on the weekend and not look like I just stepped out of the office. I also really liked the color combo of the plum and gray – to me, it’s a little unexpected but worked great.

When you look in your closet, do you find more casual or dressy, work-y pieces?

