I co-hosted a baby shower at my house on Sunday for a very dear friend. I may be in the minority on this, but I love wedding and baby showers. I truly enjoy celebrating these momentous life milestones with friends and family. Plus, it’s a great opportunity to get dressed up and enjoy yummy hors d’oeurves and some type of cake.

One of the guests, who is also a good friend of mine, came in wearing the cutest jumpsuit (or romper – call it what you want).

Bisou Bisou belted jumpsuit with pockets

I’ll be the first to admit that I have been skeptical of jumpsuits for a while. I’ve always thought that a one-piece outfit that is not a dress was shady and definitely thought that they were better suited for someone who is tall (which I am not, but my friend is). But like I said, my friend look fantastic. And even more surprising (at least to me) was that it came from JCPenney. For $59.99! My friend works at the JCPenney corporate office north of Dallas so, admittedly, she is well aware of their merchandise. In all honesty, I don’t remember the last time I shopped at JCPenney.

It’s really amazing how our pre-formed stereotypes of stores and items of clothing can keep us locked up in our comfort zone. On Sunday, my friend definitely booted me right out of some of my pre-conceived ideas. I’m still not sure that a jumpsuit would work on my 5’1″ frame, but I definitely won’t pass judgment on them or anyone who wants to wear one anymore. And I may just have to hit up JCPenney sometime soon. I’m all for discovering hidden gems at reasonable price points.

What are your thoughts on jumpsuits? Have you shopped at JCPenney lately?

Image pulled from JCPenney.com.

 

