In the last few years, many of the long-standing rules of fashion have disappeared. One of the newer trends that bucks the old rules is wearing tights with open-toe shoes. Specifically, opaque black tights with chunky sandals in a contrasting color. I expect that this is a very polarizing trend and it may be one of those things we see in magazines and on runways that just doesn’t translate to real life. But I love this look. I was recently flipping through one of my Glamour magazines and found this picture in the Michael Kors’ “Do’s and Don’ts” article.

It’s definitely not tights season yet here in Texas but I may try to get creative when the weather gets cooler and see if I can pull this look off. I’ll be honest – it’s waaaay out of my comfort zone so I may never get the courage to leave the house in this. But I could use a little “out-of-the-box” fashion in my life, so we’ll see.

What do you think of this look?

