A few weekends ago I took a girls’ trip to Chicago. The trip was filled with all of our favorite activities, which of course includes shopping. We hit up Michigan Avenue and some local boutiques. With the endless amount of shopping in Chicago, I hit the jackpot at two of my favorite stand-bys: Ann Taylor Loft and Banana Republic. Yes, I realize I could have driven just 15 minutes in my own town to buy all this same stuff, but it’s always more fun to shop with your girlfriends. And I really am thrilled with my purchases.

You may remember that I was in need of jeans for fall. I picked up an inky dark (almost black) cury bootcut at Banana and a dark wash straight-leg jean from Loft. I love dark jeans and think they are one of the most flattering, versatile pieces any girl can have in her wardrobe. Recently, I had also been craving some mustard in my closet. When pairing outfits together, I kept going back to the fact that a mustard-colored piece would pull a lot of things that I already own together. Mustard runs a pretty big spectrum and I found that a true yellow mustard didn’t work well on my complexion, but a mustardy-green hit the spot. I invested in a darker cardigan from Loft and a sweater from Banana with great sequined accents at the shoulder. The purple shell was just an added bonus to round out the mix.

I am pumped about my new purchases. Now I just need to get my jeans hemmed. Oh, the trials and tribulations of being short. It is amazing what new life just a few pieces can inject into your closet.

Have you done any shopping lately? How have you injected life into your closet?

P.S. Have you checked out Glass Heel yet? It’s a fantastic site for professional women and I’m contributing on fashion. Check out my first two articles, Staying Stylish on a Budget and The Culture of Office Attire, here.

