I’ve never been the type of person to buy nice, cute work-out clothes, despite my love for fashion and shopping. I think it was due in part to the fact that I didn’t want to spend money on something that I would sweat all over and also partly due to the fact that I didn’t make exercise a consistent routine in my life. However, as I’ve gotten older, I’ve embraced, and even enjoy, a regular work-out routine. It’s become more than just trying to lose weight. For me it’s about overall health, energy, attitude and maintaining my weight.

My husband is always encouraging me to buy myself some nice work-out clothes. (I think he’s embarrassed by my super old sorority shirts. 31 might be too old to be sporting letters.) So I finally took the plunge and bought some Zella Booty pants with a Nordstrom gift card…and my life was changed forever. Dramatic, yes, but these pants completely transformed the way I feel about cute work-out clothes. They are the most flattering pair of tight, fitted pants that I have ever owned. They increase my confidence and inspire me to get to the gym. At $62 a pop, they aren’t cheap. However, I was always raised to appreciate quality and invest in long-term pieces.

No, this is not my body.

My newest fitness obsession is The Bar Method. Yes, I know that a ballet barre is not spelled bar, but this is the name of the studio. It is undeniably one of, if not the, hardest work-out I have ever done. Since I grew up dancing my entire life, I understand and enjoy the fundamentals behind it. I tried it for the first time this past weekend and I’m hooked. The classes during the week don’t quite work well with my schedule, but I’m already signed up again for this Saturday. And you can bet I’ll be rocking my Zella Booty pants.

What’s your current favorite form of exercise? Do you treat yourself to cute work-out clothes?

Image courtesy of Nordstrom.com.

