When I was starting my freshman year of high school, the style and trends of that time period looked straight out of Clueless. Of course I wanted to look cool as a freshman, so I found a cool backpack from Gadzooks. Anyone else remember Gadzooks? The backpack was completely clear, and for lack of a better word, plastic. My mom tried to talk me out of it, saying it was poor quality. But I insisted and she gave in. By the third day of school, both straps had broken on the backpack. Score one for Mom.

It was about that time that I started to actually understand what she meant when she insisted on buying quality clothes for me, instead of something cheap and trendy from Wet Seal or 579. I have maintained that mindset on purchasing quality anything, really, not just clothes, since then. I’m not a fan of fast fashion for this reason. I don’t shop at Forever 21 and can rarely muster up the courage to brave the crowds in H&M. Hence the name of this blog: Classically Chic. In my opinion, fast, cheap clothing is anything but classically chic.

The part of this equation that has always messed me up is the quantity part. I want to buy quality merchandise but I get a rush from buying multiple things. (For example, I purchased 3 belts today. Yes, 3. I might have a belt problem.) Anyway, wanting to buy a lot of top-of-the-line, really nice things isn’t always feasible since I don’t have a money tree in the backyard. As I’m getting older, however, I’m realizing that having a full closet doesn’t necessarily mean I have a great wardrobe. I’m truly starting to lean towards having a well-edited closet, with nicer, fewer pieces I can mix and match. I have no doubt getting to that place will be challenging for a couple of reasons: 1) old habits die hard, so I’m going to have to wean myself off of buying a lot of so-so pieces, and 2) I’m lazy and cleaning out my closet again doesn’t sound like fun.

So that’s my “quality vs. quantity” musing that has been running through my head as of late as I start thinking about fall purchases. What side of the argument do you fall on? Or, are you just a well-adjusted shopper who buys what she needs when she needs it? And if so, can you teach me how to be like that?

